Policy Update

Virginia is the 10th State to Block Offshore Drilling



NCEL Point of Contact

Offshore Drilling Legislation in 2020

Last week, Virginia passed a bill restricting offshore drilling in state waters. The bill is awaiting signature from the Governor. Once signed, Virginia will be the 10th state to block offshore drilling.

In addition to Virginia, there are 6 states working on anti-offshore drilling legislation this year. 

  • HawaiiMassachusetts, and South Carolina are working on passing bans on new infrastructure and related exploration activities off their coasts. 
  • Washington’s ban on new infrastructure recently passed the Senate and is being considered by the House. 
  • Though both states have enacted bans, Florida and New Jersey have active resolutions voicing opposition to drilling expansion and exploration activities. 
Successes in Other States

Since 2018, 18 states on the Atlantic and Pacific Coasts have pushed back against drilling expansion by introducing legislation to block or restrict offshore drilling practices in their coastal waters. So far, nine states have enacted such policies: California, Delaware, Florida, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, and Oregon.

For more information on offshore drilling and to keep up to date on legislation, visit ncel.net/offshore-drilling